The building of the City Hall is located on 1 Armii Krajowej Street. In order to reach it using city transportation, we can go by bus no. 70 – in this case, we should get off on the “Urząd Miasta” stop, or by bus no. 87, which is going to take us to the “Wąska Floating Arena” stop, then we walk Felczaka Street towards Wojska Polskiego Alley. The building of the City Hall is located about 350 meters from the intersection of Wąska and Felczaka Street.
The decision about the construction of the present building of the City Hall was made already in 1921. The building was meant to be a seat of the general administrative office of the Pomerania Province. In 1924, the central part was erected, a year later the east wing was added, and in 1927 the rest of the complex was built. Everything was designed by Georg Steinmetz, PhD (Eng). The design intended to incorporate the building in the line of the park established by Quistorp. The main buildings of the City Hall surround a quadrilateral yard; in the eastern part there is also an additional internal yard.
The building housed the offices of general governor, provincial syndic, office director, head chancellor, and managers of technical departments. In the years 1933-1945, the complex was a seat of the NSDAP.
In the central part of the main building, there is a telephone exchange located on the ground floor. In the left wing one can find spacious halls used before the war for celebrations and official sittings. Currently, the left wing is a place where the sessions of City Council take place and the most imposing hall was used by philharmonic until 2014. In the right wing, there were office spaces and box offices – up to this day the right wing is used for the service of customers. Under the building, there is shelter of the area of 700 square meters, in which as many as 500 people can take refuge.
The building of the City Hall was erected in a neo-baroque style. Two passages were made under the central building, leading to the park. Originally, the façade of the building was green and the residents of the city called it colloquially a “spinach palace” or a “spinach house”. In the 1960s, the building turned gray due to covering its walls with cement plaster. It was not until 2011 when the decision of restoring the building’s original colour was made. Since 2013, we may again admire the green colour of the building of the City Hall.
The building of the City Hall has been entered into the provincial register of historic monuments in October 1995.
|#||Hour||Temperature||Minimal temperature||Max temperature||Wind speed|
|10:54||5 °C||3.89 °C||6.67 °C||4.47 KM/H|