Kamień Pomorski is located 100 km north of Szczecin on a peninsula protruding into the broads of the Dziwna River that makes up the Kamień Lagoon. The city centre is located 7 km from the Baltic Sea. The town hall is situated in the very centre of the old town. The Old Market Square, where the town hall is located, is surrounded by Bałtycka, Gryfitów, and Strzelecka Streets.
The town hall in Kamień Pomorski was built in several stages; the western part of the building is the oldest. The construction of the town hall was started at the turn of the 13th and the 14th century, but the building got the shape that we can see nowadays in the mid-14th century. Initially, the foundation was square-shaped; it was extended to form a rectangular later on. According to the rules that prevailed at that time, the façade of the building faced the east. In the 15th century, in the late Gothic period, the building was enriched with ornaments and architectural details. About 1600, the western gable with tracery decoration made of profiled brick was built. In the 18th century, the entrance to the building was changed – it was moved from the western to the southern side; at the same time windows were changed for rectangular ones. In 1837, a part of the first floor was divided into two storeys so as to create new rooms. 90 years later the building was re-Gothicized by revealing pillars and arcades. In 1945, as a result of military activities, the building was almost entirely destroyed; only the enclosure walls with a central gable were preserved. The reconstruction of the town hall was not carried out until the years 1965-1968, when the building’s condition from the 15th century was restored. The style represents a transitional period of the West Pomeranian art, between Gothic and Renaissance. The town hall is made of brick and partially plastered. The older, western part of the building is built in a Wendish bond, the younger part – in a Gothic. In the cellars and on the ground floor there are Gothic cross-ribbed and barrel vaults. The town hall is the most important building in the old town district. Attention should be paid to a three-bay arcade with a late Gothic gable from the eastern side, and the western gable wall with a tracery decoration topped with the town’ coat of arms. On the southern wall, there are original jougs – an old instrument of punishment to which a convict was bound with a collar on his or her neck; this was usually connected with lashing. In 2011, as a result of archaeological works the fragment of ceramics and a handle of a Viking’s knife were excavated in front of the town hall. The items can be seen in the Museum of the Kamień Region. The place of excavation was exhibited; it can be seen under a special grating along with a fragment of a 16th-century wall. A plaque located nearby informs tourists on this valuable discovery. Nowadays, the town hall is the seat of the town authorities.