The Szczecin paper factory is located at Stołczyńska Street in the Skolwin district in the northern part of the city. It covers an area of approximately 375,000 m2 on the shores of Lake Dąbie. Nearby, there is the Skolwin Dworzec stop, where buses stop.
In 1914, the construction of a paper factory in the then district of Skolwin, which started in 1886, was completed. The newly built buildings became the property of the Feldmuehle company, established in 1885 in Dusseldorf, and the factory was named Feldmuehle, Papier- und Zellstoffwerke Aktiengesellschaft (Zakłady Papierniczo-Celulozowe Spółka Akcyjna).
The plants in Skolwin were modernly equipped, had an internal railway connection, their own quay, 638 meters long, and a side channel 263 meters long and 18 meters wide (existing until today). As the name suggests, paper and cellulose were produced there. In 1945, the factory was occupied by the Russians. It is true that on May 15, 1946, it was given to the Poles, but by that time all equipment was transported east. Therefore, re-production started only in 1953.
The plants then started to produce paper for books and newspapers, and to convert used recycled paper into toilet paper. In 1975, it operated under the name of Szczecińskie Zakłady Papiernicze "Skolwin". In the 90s the name was changed to Fabryka Papieru Szczecin-Skolwin SA. In 2005, the Danish company Nørhaven A / S bought the factory and renamed it Skolwin Paper International, but two years later the factory in Skolwin went bankrupt.
Due to the high historical and artistic value, immediately after the cessation of production and declaration of bankruptcy, the complex of buildings of the Skolwin factory was under the protection of the Municipal Conservator of Monuments. In 2012, the premises of Skolwin Paper International were bought by the Polish company Apis, operating in the paper industry, which started their revitalization, renovation of buildings and restarting the production of paper. Currently, it employs 72 people. There is a railway line at the factory, but in 2011 passenger connections on this route were closed and currently only freight trains run there.