The building is located on Wolności Street – one of the main streets of Mirosławiec, situated on the A10 route, between the junctions with Nowa and Akacjowa Streets. Almost opposite the granary, there is the Town and Commune Council of Mirosławiec.
The building was erected to function as a granary, according the design by Walter Adolf Georg Gropius, the world-famous modernist architect, a founder of the Bauhaus school of craft, applied art, and architecture, the dean of the Harvard University (USA). The granary is an example of a storehouse building referring to the works of Peter Behrens, implemented according a conception indicating early functionalism.
The granary was built in the years 1913-1914, as a three-storey, brick building. Façades were partially plastered, which resulted in contrast arrangement of brick and plastered spaces characteristic of this period of the artistic activity of Walter Gropius. The building was built on a rectangular plan with a pair of side avant-corpses in the front (eastern) façade, with a central pseudo-avant-corps in the rear (western) façade. The middle part is emphasized with a triangular pediment. The body was topped with a gable roof, avant-corpses – with mono-pitched roofs. The arrangement of the façades, created in classicist style, is strictly symmetrical – similar solutions were also used by Walter Gropius in the Fagus factory in Alfeld, which was entered into the UNESCO cultural heritage list in 2011. The body of the granary in Mirosławiec is well-proportioned, balanced and monumental with austere, geometrical architectural design. The individual levels of the granary are covered with beam ceilings supported by wooden pillars with angle braces.
Currently, the thoroughly renovated building houses the PMB Industry and Construction Depot.