It is a town in Gryfino country where the headquarters of the Cedynia municipality are located. It is the westernmost point of Poland, situated in the western part of the Zachodniopomorskie Lake District. There are two province roads no. 124 and 125 going through the town. There is national road no. 31 situated 23 km from the centre. Near Cedynia there is a border crossing in Osinowo Dolne approx. 7.1 km. You can get to the capital city of Germany – Berlin – from there and it is only 60 km. There are also small villages near Cedynia: Lubiechów Dolny (4 km to the north), Lubiechów Górny (6 km to the north-east), Czachów (8 km to the north-east), Łukowice (10 km to the north-east), Orzechów (6 km to the east), Żelichów (9 km to the south-east) and Osinów Dolny (7 km to the south-west). The town is located within Cedynia Landscape Park and there are various nature reserves, forests, lakes and rivers nearby.
It is a very old town. In the 6th century BC there was a huge Łużycka defensive estate, including a castle and a settlement. Its purpose was to protect the crossing on the Oder.
At the beginning of the 10th century on the area of the destroyed estate the first Slavonic settlements are established.
The town was first mentioned in 972 when Mieszko I and Czcibor, his brother, won the battle for the mouth of Oder with the margrave Hodon. In 1299 it was granted municipal rights and then in 1346 the court was established there. At the beginning of the 15th century the Teutonic Order became the owner of Cedynia, however as a result of their financial problems, in 1454 it was sold to Brandenburg, the ruler of which was Frederic II. In 1611 the town took over the monastery which was empty after the secularization of the Order. During the Thirty Years' War the Swedes took over the town, which became headquarters for the king Gustav II Adolf in 1631. As a result of a battle in 1637 the municipal buildings were seriously damaged and the monastery fell into ruin. Ten years later thanks to Frederic Wilhelm I the ruins were reconstructed into a Baroque hunting residence. Unfortunately in 1699 it was destroyed by fire. At the beginning of the 18th century the town was conquered by the Prussians and its capital was Frankfurt (Oder). In the 19th century industry started to grow dynamically and a huge brickyard and a brewery were built. During the 2nd World War a large part of the municipal buildings was destroyed and the town was abandoned. After the war the town was included within the borders of Poland and within an organized resettlement – resettled. The buildings and the municipal infrastructure were reconstructed.
In 1972 on the Czcibora hill Pomnik Polskiego Zwycięstwa [Polish Victory Monument] was built at Oder as a memorial of the battle anniversary. In Cedynia there are several monuments, including three mosaics.
This historic town has numerous preserved monuments. First of all, the medieval church under the invocation of the Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which was built at the turn of the 13th and 14th century. The church was reconstructed in the 18th and 19th century. There are clear traces of initial portals and windows with pointed arches. In the top wall there are three blends in the pyramidal system. The inside is decorated with two tombstones and a Baroque pulpit altar from 1720.
The monastery of the Cistercians from the 13th century is another historic monument. It was built in 128 on the hill near the settlement. It was reconstructed many times: in the 14th, 15th and 16th century. Between 1555 and 1611 there was a school for girls of noble origin. After reformation it was transformed into a farm. It was reconstructed after it was damaged during the 2nd World War. It is included in the European Cistercians’ Trail.
Also the town hall from 1840 is included on the list of monuments.
The Jewish cemetery from the 19th century also constitutes a historic monument. It is located at Kościuszki Street. It survived the 2nd World War, unfortunately in the post-war period it started to fall into ruin. Thanks to two residents of Cedynia it was partially reconstructed and seven surviving tombstones were placed back there. They have a shape of a vertical rectangle finished with two bleeds or an arc. The majority of them do not have typical ornaments.
Apart from the monuments, in Cedynia it is worth paying attention to the downtown area, where you can admire tenement houses from the 19th century, which constitute the most valuable complex of building regarding architecture. You can also admire the former court building and the municipal archive from 1849, basements from the 18th century which were used to store wine hollowed in the slope of the hill, and a valley of the old mill of which only the utility building was preserved, which is now reconstructed into a hotel and a restaurant. The downtown area used to be a medieval settlement.
The Regional Museum is a must on the sightseeing list. Its collections include most of all exhibits from the archaeological excavations within the castle, the settlement and the cemetery, as well as the surroundings of Cedynia. The residents significantly contributed to the appearance of the exhibits, giving their personal paleontological, archaeological and historical/military collections to the museum. Paleontological exhibits include giant deer’s antlers and mammoth’s shoulder and blow. In the museum you can see exhibits from the Stone, Bronze and Iron era, as well as from the Middle Ages. They are mostly objects of daily use, tools and weapons. You can also see objects from the period of the 2nd World War and the reconstruction of the Cedynia battle from 1945.
It is worth sightseeing the area of the old settlement which was here already in the 6th century BC. The archaeological works were conducted here between 1958 and 1959, while between 1967 and 1973 and between 1976 and 1985 the works were conducted on the northern cemetery (currently there is a primary school). During the archaeological works it was discovered that in the 10th-12th century the settlement had 12-metre high wooden-stone-ground walls with a hook structure. Inside there were wooden households. The hill above the town is the only remain of the old settlement. On the hill in 1966 a part of stockade with a stylized vessel, on which the memorial homage was paid, was placed. Also in this place in 1985 a metal monument was placed which constitutes of two metal swords and a shield on which the town crest is placed. Apart from this there is another metal monument with four stylized spears and swords on which two shields with the Piast eagle and contemporary eagle were placed.
In Cedynia a lookout tower from the 19th century was preserved until today. It is 14-metre high and it was built in 1895 by the mayor Ernest Melcher. Its purpose was to honour people who were killed during the wars of the Prussia with Denmark in 1864, with Austria in 1866 and with France in 1870-1871. In the lower part of the tower there were boards with the names of the killed people, unfortunately they were destroyed during the 2nd World War. In 1956 it was renovated and made available for tourists. The tower constitutes a local attraction and it is willingly visited by tourists. From its top you can look around to see the surroundings. It is also well-visible from all the places in the town.