Białogard is situated about 25 km from Koszalin. The provincial road No. 163 from Kołobrzeg to Poznań runs through the town. The national road No. 6 from Szczecin to Gdańsk runs at a distance of 8 km from Białogard. Białogard is one of the largest railway hubs in Middle Pomerania, from which You can get directly to virtually any larger town in Poland.
Białogard is in the centre of the district of Białogard. The commune and district authorities have their offices there. The town is located on the Białogard Plain, in the Parsęta basin. The town covers an area of 25.73 km2. The river Leśnica, which is a right-bank tributary of the Parsęta, flows through the town. Its name is derived from the words 'white' [Polish 'biały'] and 'a gord' [Polish 'gród']. There is a small Natura 2000 area within the town, located within a municipal forest at Słoneczna Street.
Archaeological research shows that the fortified settlement of Białogard was built as early as in the eighth century. It is one of the oldest castles in Pomerania. At that times it was a small settlement, then a tribal stronghold, a Piast castle in the eleventh century, and a prince castle in the twelfth century. Gallus Anonymous described Białogard, then called 'Białe' [white] town, in his chronicles as the central point of the land, which had a royal nature.
The first preserved document in the history of the town dates from 1159. It indicates the importance of the castle in the economic life of Pomerania and good relations of the authorities with the Church. The town received Lübeck civic rights in 1299. Then the townspeople were exempt from the jurisdiction of the Prince, from his duties and was given commercial liberties. The town became a staple one in 1307. Those events began the process of Germanisation of the town, and the related influx of merchants and the development of trade. The settlement, developing dynamically and gaining importance, became the residence of Warcisław IV in the years 1315-1321. It was then that the town, thanks to the mediation of Kołobrzeg, obtained membership in the Hanseatic League. The increasing role of the town and turbulent times required a defensive system. 8-metre walls were built. At that time, the Blessed Virgin Mary Church and the town hall located on the market were erected.
The battle that took place in the fifteenth century went down in the history of the town and today is its indispensable part. The battle was called the 'the battle for the cow', and its cause was the cow that was not returned by a resident of Białogard to a resident of nearby Świdwin, from whom it had been borrowed. Then the people of Świdwin took up arms against the inhabitants of Białogard. The clash ended with the victory of the residents of Świdwin. The story of this battle is still alive at present times. There is an annual battle, and actually sports competition between the towns, based on the story. Representatives of both towns compete with each other, fighting for the symbolic cow's horns. The winner wins the horns that adorn the municipal office of the winning town. The Białogard Land was relatively peaceful at the end of the fifteenth century and throughout the sixteenth century, after the unification of Western Pomerania by Bogusław X. Then crafts and trade flourished. During the Thirty Years' War in the years 1618-1648, imperial and Swedish troops swept across the town, looting and destroying it. Numerous buildings were destroyed. The Białogard Land became a part of Brandenburg in 1653. During the Seven Years' War in the years 1756-1763, Białogard and the whole Pomerania were the subject of fighting and trading between Swedish and Prussian troops. The town was repeatedly plundered and burnt by Russian troops, disasters did not omitted it as well. Numerous wild fires and epidemics took place there. The worst event was a fire in 1765, which caused that a large part of the town was burnt down. The first plan of Białogard, called 'Ackermann's plan' (from the name of the author) was made after the fire. It is also the oldest town plan preserved to our times. The town became a garrison town in the nineteenth century because the 11th Regiment of Dragoons was deployed there. The army barracks were at Kołobrzeska Street. There was a shortage of land for the town enlargement due to the population growth. Therefore, the defensive walls were demolished in the years 1866-1868. Refugees started to arrive in the town after World War II. German troops finally left Białogard on 5th March 1945. Civilians had been displaced beforehand. Then the Red Army entered the town. Health care, education and administration began to be organised after the war. The Soviet army stayed in the town after the liberation. They occupied the barracks at Kołobrzeska, Połczyńska and Zwycięstwa Streets. A military hospital at Chopina Street, shooting range at Kołobrzeska Street, exercise place and casino for officers at Mickiewicza Street were created for the needs of the army. Soviet troops stationed in Białogard until June 1992.
Białogard and its surroundings are a paradise for anglers. The rivers Parsęta and Líśnica, flowing through the town, are rich in trout, sea trout and grayling. The Parsęta Lovers Society, which carries about the cleanliness of the rivers, fights against poaching and organises fishing events, is very active in the area. The biggest event for anglers is the Sea Trout Feast organised in the summer, which is very popular among anglers nationwide. In addition to anglers, the river is a great place to go canoeing. The Parsęta is a river of a mountainous type, with gorges and a rapid current. It is therefore an interesting challenge for the enthusiasts of the sport. There is a canoe marina in Białogard at Kołobrzeska Street, where You can start rafting or have a meal break. There are tables and benches at the marina.
Białogard is surrounded by forests. Pine forests with some specimens of spruce prevail. There are also deciduous beech, oak, alder and birch forests. The forests of Białogard are rich in game, hence hunting associations are active there. Very interesting and worth visiting plant associations can be found in the area of Białogard. The arboretum at Kołobrzeska Street is also worth mentioning. It is a woodland garden, the most exotic place in the town in terms of nature. Lots of interesting species of trees grow there, e.g. Lawson cypress, Sawara cypress, pines: common, white, mountain, stone ones; firs: Caucasian, noble, Nikko, white, corkbark ones, spruces: common, Serbian, white ones, European larch, juniper. In addition, You can relax in Orła Białego [White Eagle] Park. It is a beautiful, newly renovated park. You can find there two ponds, a playground for children, a monument to the white eagle. You can rest on the benches and relax surrounded by greenery. The biggest green area in the town city is Professor Leon Mroczkiewicz Park located at the exit road to Koszalin. The park is called a 'park-grove' by the locals. A renovated amphitheatre, as well as a large and aged tree stand can be found in the park. Monumental specimens grow here. What deserves a special attention is an alley of about 12 English oaks with a circumference of 330-520, and age of 400 - 600 years. A very nice green area with water reservoir is located at Szpitalna Street.
The town has many interesting places and historic buildings. The restored Old Town is worth mentioning, within which there is much to see. First of all, go to the Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The church dates from the early fourteenth century. It is a beautiful old building with historic ornaments: an altar, a pulpit, stained glass windows and an organ. While in the Old Town, You have to visit the Old Town Hall. Now it houses the Registry Office. It is worth seeing the old houses, in particular the impressive, richly decorated one opposite the church, which now is home to a bank and the authorities of the district of Białogard. There are fragments of defensive walls, and the Wysoka [High] Gate. The gate is one of the five once existing gates guarding the entrance to the town. The gate is a historic and renovated building. It houses an art gallery now. You can admire the works of local artists there. Galleries and artists' studios are at the Gate, which you can enter, watch the works, or buy the ones that would interest You. In addition to the Old Town and the monuments located there, it is necessary to see the old St. George church, located by the river Líśnica near Middle School No. 1. The sights worth seeing in the town are also, for instance, Wojska Polskiego Street with its old houses and the post office building, red brick buildings which house the district court, the railway station and the municipal office.
The Centre of Culture and European Meetings in Białogard is also very active. There is a 3D cinema in the centre, projecting films in a digital form. It is a modern facility with a beautiful cinema hall, where not only film screenings, but also other interesting events take place, including performances, shows, concerts, conferences, reviews and competitions. The Centre also offers a range of activities for children and young people, but also for adults. Various clubs, sections and the University of the Third Age operate there.
The town hosts a number of cultural and entertainment events. The largest ones are: 'Days of Białogard', 'the Battle for the Cow', 'Days of Christian Culture', 'Business Fair' and plenty of events and sports competitions.
The town has lots of sports facilities. These include numerous sports halls, pitches, a hall at the Secondary School and sports complex at Moniuszki Street. The complex includes a stadium with a grass football pitch, outdoor swimming pools, sports room, gym, tennis courts, obstacle course. The complex is a place where a number of sports events on a regional, or even nationwide, scale take place. The complex has social facilities (changing rooms, showers, toilets) and beds.
There are three elementary schools, two middle schools, two state secondary schools (a grammar school, as well as a technical and a vocational school) and private schools. The town has a District Police Department, Sanitary and Epidemiological Station, a district hospital, private health care institutions, public prosecutors and a district court. Pharmacies, shops, bars, restaurants, pubs and 'Hosso' Shopping Centre are also there.
The town also has a public library and the Chamber of the Regional Tradition. In the chamber You can see permanent exhibitions, including an exhibition of orders and decorations of the former Polish President Aleksander Kwaśniewski.
Public transport consisting of three bus lines functions in the town.