From the Main Railway Station to the Polish Theater, take tram no. 6. Get off at the "Dworzec Morski" stop, and then take the stairs to the slope at the top of which the theater building stands.
We can get from the center of Szczecin by tram no. 5 or 11. We get off at the "Parkowa" stop. Then we cross the intersection and enter "Szarotki" street, from which we turn right into ul. Swarożyca. The theater is about 230 meters away.
About the theater
The initiator of the creation of the theater in post-war Szczecin was S. Czapelski, and the first director was B. Skąpski. On April 15, 1946, he inaugurated his activity with the premiere of "Damy i Huzary" by A. Freda, directed by B. Skąpski, and ended on August 31, 1946 with Fodor's "Church Mouse". During this time, he prepared 5 premieres, played 84 performances in total.
Polish Theater was a private enterprise, partially subsidized, like its successor - the "Komedia Muzyczna" Theater. It operated in the same headquarters from September 1, 1946 (inauguration by the "Na waves of the Odra") to December 1948, changing its name to "Polish Theater" in 1947 (09-12.1948 under the administration of F. Smosarski).
During this time, he prepared 39 premieres, played over 800 performances, which were watched by a total of about 230,000. viewers, also from outside Szczecin. The S. Czosnowski Theater was also touring. The biggest theatrical events of this period include: "Relocating" by Roztworowski (September 26, 1946), "The Morality of Pani Dulska" by Zapolska (October 4, 1947), "Shadow" by Niccodemiego with M. Malicka (October 18, 1947), "At the door closed "and" Ladacznica with the principles "of Sartre (5 May 1948). In 1949, for a short time, "Mała Scene" was launched in Polish Theater (including "Husband and wife of Fredro").
The present building was erected on the site of the 19th-century building of the "Lodge of 3 Circles". The former, wooden, half-timbered building was surrounded by a garden, gazebos, fountains, sculptures and terraces, there were also tennis courts. The gardens were open to the public and enjoyed considerable popularity among walkers.
The building of the Polish Theater was built around 1920 according to the design of Adolf Thesmacher and rebuilt in the years 1935-1937 according to the design of Gustav Gauss. The building was erected by Szczecin Freemasons for the Masonic Lodge under the Three Circles.
From the end of the 1930s to 1945, the building housed the headquarters of the female branch of the National Socialist party organization. After the end of World War II, in the years 1945 - 1946, the "Bałtyk" cinema was housed in the facility, boxing fights and concerts were also held here. In mid-1946, on the initiative of Stanisław Czapelski, a theater was established in the building.
In the following years, the facility underwent many modernizations - renovations were carried out in 1948, 1952, 1977 and 2008. As a result of the works, the number of seats for the public was reduced (in 1945 there were 700). Currently, there are three stages in the building - a large one for 319 guests, a small one for 120 guests and the "Black Ginger Cat" stage that can accommodate 80 people. Behind the theater building, there is an excellent viewpoint over the Odra River and the islands further away.
The building of the former Masonic Lodge was entered on the provincial list of monuments in February 1996.
|#||Hour||Temperature||Minimal temperature||Max temperature||Wind speed|
|15:19||19 °C||18.01 °C||20.06 °C||5.81 KM/H|